Compensation Commission Sets Mayor & Councilmembers Salaries

City Council adopted Ordinance 779 on August 3, 2020 establishing a Compensation Commission to consider a change in compensation for elected officials.  Cities create a Compensation Commission appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by a majority of City Councilmembers to determine salaries of elected officials.  Changes to compensation for elected officials is considered an amendment to the City Charter and therefore does not require a vote of the people.  

The Compensation Commission met October 21 and November 9, 2020 to discuss Mayor and Councilmember salaries.  The Commission unanimously approved setting the annual salary for the Mayor at $4,827 and the annual salary for Councilmembers at $3,605 based on criteria in the salary survey regarding population, taxable value, general fund revenues, annual pay and that salaries for elected officials have not changed since the last City Charter revision.  For more information regarding the process, please review links below.