Parks & Rec Commission Agendas & Minutes

Boards & Commissions

Established by City ordinance in 1953 and modified by City Ordinance in 1984, the City's Parks and Recreation Commission consists of seven members, all of whom serve for two-year staggered terms, five of whom are City residents who are appointed by the City Council and two of whom are each appointed by the Bear Creek Township and Resort Township Boards of Trustees (two ex-officio Parks and Recreation Commission members, who do not vote, consist of the City Manager and Community Education Director for the Public Schools of Petoskey).

Serving as a planning and advisory body, without executive or administrative authority, the Parks and Recreation Commission oversees development of both short- and long-term recreation and sports-activity needs of the City and the greater Petoskey-community service area.