I was in an accident, How do I obtain a copy of my accident report?
- All accident reports are available at www.crashdocs.org. Please allow 5-7 business days after the date of accident for processing. The cost for these reports are $5.00
- Many accident reports are also available online through the Michigan State Police web site for a $10.00 fee. To purchase a Traffic Crash Report, go to http://www.michigan.gov/msp. Click on the TCPS icon or the Traffic Crash Purchasing System link.
Accident reports are available in our office, Monday through Friday 8:00 AM- 5:00 PM. There is a $5.00 fee for all accident reports. If the accident occurred within the last 30 days, you must also fill out and sign a Motor Vehicle FOIA form before the report can be released.
You may send a written request to our office, along with a self-addressed stamped envelope and $5.00 payment. If the accident occurred within the last 30 days, you must also fill out and sign a Motor Vehicle FOIA form before the report can be released. The Motor Vehicle FOIA Form is available here.
How do I file a police report or speak to an officer?
How do I obtain a copy of a police report?
For accident reports, please see the FAQ above regarding accident report requests.
For all other police reports, you must file a request in writing to our office. You can find our Freedom of Information Act request here. You are not required to use this form, but FOIA requests must contain the requestor's information (name, address, phone/email) and a thorough description of the records requested. Requests may be hand delivered to our office, mailed to 101 East Lake Street Petoskey, Michigan 49770, or faxed to 231-347-2471.
Please note that there are costs associated with completing your FOIA request based on the material provided and time it takes to duplicate the records.
I have a question about an inmate.
All inmates are housed at the Emmet County Sheriff's Department, you may reach them at 231-347-2036.
Does the Department of Public Safety offer Preliminary Breath tests?
We do not offer PBT's. You may contact the Emmet County Sheriff's Office for their testing time and fees at 231-347-2036.
How do I take care of a parking ticket?
What are the rules for skateboarding in Petoskey?
Skateboards are not allowed in the central business district, any roadway or bike lane of any roadway, in or across any roadway intersection, or at any public park except for areas within the park designated for such use. Skateboards are allowed at the City's Riverbend park. For more information, please click here to review the ordinance.
What are the winter season parking regulations?
My neighbor's grass is tall and unsightly. Is this legal?
How can I find out about a person's criminal history?
You may perform a criminal history check by using the Michigan State Police's Internet Criminal History Access Tool (ICHAT). Please click here for a link to their website.
What can I do about a neighbor who is storing trash on his/her property?
Click here to report a problem.
I need my fingerprints taken.
The Department of Public Safety can complete fingerprints on ink cards only. If you need Livescan digital prints taken, please contact the Emmet County Clerk's Office.
A $10 fee will be collected prior to taking your fingerprints (please be advised we can only accept cash or check). Please bring the fee (if applicable), a picture ID, and your ink card to complete your fingerprints. Fingerprints can be done Monday through Friday, 8 A.M-5 P.M. It is recommended that you call in advance to coordinate a time to complete the prints.
If your fingerprint requestor did not provide you with a print card, please confirm with them the type of card you will need. Petoskey Public Safety does not have a default card and failure to be printed on the correct card may result in delays in processing as well as additional fees.
Can I get a free take-home drug screen?